The doctoral training programme envisages core and optional courses.

Core courses ensure all students acquire basic training, and demonstrate understanding across a broad range of fusion topics, while the optional courses provide flexibility to match specific priorities.

As a measure of the quantity of work, we use the ECTS (European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System). The proposal is that out of a total of 18 ECTS, 12 ECTS meet the core requirements, and 6 ECTS meet the optional ones. The Academic Board can adapt the list of courses when necessary and appropriate. Upon request by the home supervisor, the AC can also approve courses in individual cases.

Core courses

The core courses cover a set of well-defined topics, broadly falling in the areas of Plasma Physics and Fusion Technology, and serve two purposes: to provide students with a breadth of knowledge across the fusion disciplines, and to provide a foundation level of training for those students who, for whatever reason, have not gone through a Masters programme with sufficient fusion and plasma physics background.

               PLASMA PHYSICS            MARCH 13th-17th 2023

               DIAGNOSTICS                  MARCH 20th-24th 2023

             PLASMA CONTROL & CODAC NOVEMBER 20TH - 24TH 2023

Optional courses

The optional courses provide the flexibility to further enhance the broadening, to treat certain topics in greater depth or to allow students to gain generic (transferable) skills.

Summer Schools

The participation of Ph.D students in summer schools is warmly encouraged.

FuseNet Phd events

The participation of Ph.D students in FuseNet Phd events is warmly encouraged.